ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament Netherland: From 9th To 17th February 2019

The ATP tournament in Rotterdam is one of the oldest tour events that started in 1974. This year’s event has a high-class field that shows the respect that players have for this Dutch event.

ABN AMRO has always been the sponsor of this tournament, which was initially part of the WCT (World Championship of Tennis) series, the forerunner of today’s ATP World Tour. The first tournament had a Dutch winner, Tom Okker, who beat Tom Gorman in the final. After the first Dutch success, it would take 21 years for another Dutch player to win the tournament.

The current tournament director Richard Krajicek was only the second player to secure a Dutch victory. Given the quality of the participating players, this is no surprise, as the list of winners is like a “Who’s Who” of the great tennis champions: Arthur Ashe, Jimmy Connors, Bjorn Borg, Guillermo Vilas, Stefan Edberg, Boris Becker and Roger Federer.

In 2018, the tournament was won by Roger Federer, who was able to secure the 97th ATP Tour title in uncut sets in the final against Grigor Dimitrov. Federer had his usual smooth course during the event and lost only one set throughout the tournament. At that time he played the local Robin Haase.

So far, Federer was not involved in the 2019 event, but the draw includes a myriad of top names designed to ensure an exciting tournament. The top players in the tournament so far include Alexander Zverev, Marin Cilic, Kei Nishikori, Karen Khachanov, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Kyle Edmund, Daniil Medvedev and Milos Raonic.

Where Tournament Held?

The ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament takes place every year in the Rotterdam AHOY Arena.

When This Tournament Will Start?

February 9th, 2019 to February 17th, 2019

How many Players and Seeds In The Tournament?

32 men and there will be 8 seeded players in the Men’s singles.

What is the prize money and how many ATP leaderboard points are there?

The tournament is an ATP 500, ie the winner receives 2000 ATP or WTA World Ranking points. The complete division of the points and the prize money will be awarded as follows:

Winner – 500 pts – €405,030

Runner up – 300 pts – €203,420

Semi finals – 180 pts – €102,635

Quarter finals – 90 pts – €53,940

2nd round – 45 pts – €26,960

1st round – 20 pts – €14,915

How Can I Buy Ticket For This Tournament?

Click Here For Tickets

How Can I Watch This Tournament At Home?

To see the live results of each game in this tournament, you can use the Tennishead exclusive Live Scores service here and also on twitter Official

Players Entered The Tournament:

  • Alexander Zverev
  • Marin Cilic
  • Kei Nishikori
  • Karen Khachanov
  • Kyle Edmund
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas
  • Daniil Medvedev
  • Milos Raonic
  • Grigor Dimitrov
  • Nikoloz Basilashvili
  • David Goffin
  • Roberto Bautista Agut
  • Hyeon Chung
  • Richard Gasquet
  • Denis Shapovalov
  • Fernando Verdasco
  • Gael Monfils
  • Lucas Pouille
  • Philipp Kohlschreiber
  • Jo-Wilfried Tsonga*
  • Nick Kyrgios
  • Marton Fucsovics
  • Andreas Seppi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *