Afghanistan Made 7 Changes In ODI Squad For West Indies Series

After their last-place finish in the 2019 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, which ended without a victory after nine games, Afghanistan has reworked its one-day international squad for the three-game series against the West Indies and made up to seven changes to an On Friday, October 25, a 16-member contingent was announced.

In addition to the suspended duo of Mohammad Shahzad and Aftab Alam, there was no room for the fast bowling duo of Dawlat Zadran and Hamid Hassan, as well as Hashmatullah Shahidi, Noor Ali Zadran and Samiullah Shinwari. They were replaced by Javed Ahmadi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Ibrahim Zadran, Yamin Ahmadzai, and Naveen-ul-Haq.

The changes are yet another example of a post-World Cup revision that began with Gulbadin Naib being replaced by Rashid Khan, who captained all three formats.

The T20I squad had five changes. As in the ODI team, Dawlat was left out, while Ibrahim, Ahmadzai, and Ahmadi made the cut. The batsmen Fazal Niazai, Najeeb Tarakai, and Shafiqullah, as well as the 20-year-old leg spinner Shahidullah, who was named in the T20I selection for the series in Bangladesh, but was not present in a game, stayed out.

Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, who joined the World Cup squad in the middle of the tournament to replace Alam and played a game against the West Indies in Leeds, was named.

It is Afghanistan’s first ODI deployment after the World Cup, but they were busier in the T20I scene. They participated in the Twenty20 Tri-Series in Bangladesh, which also included Zimbabwe, and each won against the two opponents nations before sharing the trophy with the home side, after a washed-out final.

Afghanistan’s series against the West Indies begins with a three-game T20I series. The first game will take place on the 5th of November. Three ODIs follow, before the tour ends with a one-off test. All matches take place at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun.

Leave a Reply