All-Round India take lead in T20I series against Sri Lanka

India took a 1-0 lead in this three-match T20 series by defeating Sri Lanka by 7 wickets in the second T20 International match played at Holkar Stadium in Indore. The first T20 match of the series in Guwahati had to be canceled due to rain and poor arrangements. In the second T20 match, India registered a convincing victory. Now on January 10, the last and decisive match of this series will be played in Pune.

Losing the toss and batting first, the Sri Lankan team got all out for 142 runs in 20 overs, meaning that India India to chase down the target of 143 runs to win. In response, Team India registered the victory, scoring the target in 17.3 overs. The Indian team defeated Sri Lanka in the T20 International match held for the second time at Holkar Stadium. For India, opener Lokesh Rahul contributed 45, Shreyas Iyer 34, Shikhar Dhawan 32 and Virat Kohli contributed 30 not out. Hasaranga took 2 wickets and Lahiru took 1 wicket for Sri Lanka.

Earlier on 22 December 2017, India defeated Sri Lanka in a big score match in the same stadium. In that match, Rohit Sharma set the record for the fastest century in T20 International history. In the match, Rohit Sharma scored a century from 35 balls. Rohit Sharma scored 118 runs in 43 balls while Rahul scored 89 runs in 49 balls which helped India score 260 runs for five wickets in 20 overs and then won the match by 88 runs.

Now at Holkar Stadium, India has defeated Sri Lanka for the second time. In the match played in this stadium, India has won 9 out of 9 matches. The Indian team has won two T20 International matches, five ODIs and two Test matches held so far at this ground.

Sri Lanka could not make a big score

Sri Lanka’s team, who came out to bat first, failed to score big. Sri Lanka scored 142 runs losing 9 wickets in 20 overs and gave India a target of 143 runs to win. For Sri Lanka, Kusal Perera scored 34 runs while Danushka Gunathilaka contributed 20 and Avishka Fernando contributed 22 runs.

Apart from this, Dhananjay De Silva scored 17 and Wanindu Hasaranga scored 16 not out. Shardul Thakur took three wickets from India, while Navdeep Saini and Kuldeep Yadav got two successes each. Jasprit Bumrah and Washington Sundar had one success each.

The pair of Danushka Gunathilaka and Avishka Fernando gave Sri Lanka a decent start. Both the openers together added 38 runs for the first wicket. In the fifth over of Sri Lanka’s innings, Washington Sundar dismissed Avishka Fernando. Washington Sundar gave the first blow to Sri Lanka by having Avishka Fernando caught by Navdeep Saini.

Avishka Fernando was dismissed for 22 runs. In the eighth over, Navdeep Saini gave a second blow to Sri Lanka and bowled Danushka Gunathilaka. Danushka Gunathilaka was out for 20 runs. Avishka Fernando was out after scoring 22 runs off 16 balls. Fernando was caught by Washington Sundar in the hands of Navdeep Saini. Kusal Perera was dismissed for 34 runs. He hit three sixes in his innings. He was caught by Shikhar Dhawan off Kuldeep’s ball.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa (9) was caught by Navdeep Saini in the hands of Pant. Shanaka (7) was bowled by Jaspreet Bumrah. The Sri Lankan team went on to lose wickets at regular intervals. Due to the lack of a big partnership from their batsmen, the visiting team was unable to reach the big score and it could reach only 142 runs. Dhananjay De Silva scored 17 off 13 balls with two fours and Wanindu Hasaranga scored an unbeaten 16-run stand with the help of three fours in 10 balls.

India won the toss

India captain Virat Kohli has decided to bowl after winning the toss and invited Sri Lanka to bat first. There was no change in both the teams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme