Argentina Qualify For Men’s Olympic Football Tournament 2020

Argentina is the impressive winner of the CONMEBOL qualification competition and will be supported by the runner-up Brazil at the 2020 men’s Olympic football tournament in Tokyo.

La Albiceleste sealed the continental crown and her ticket to Japan with a game, while A Canarinha won a place against the Argentines in the final. The Brazilians will now try to defend the Olympic title won in Rio 2016.

Brazil’s defeat against its neighbors ended hopes of Uruguay, which had given chances to go to Tokyo by defeating host Colombia.

What About Argentina?

After falling behind the hosts in the opening game, Argentina turned the game around and scored a close victory. Assembled from this point on, they showed both individual and collective strengths and were a cut ahead of their opponents.

Fernando Batista’s team led their group with a perfect record and maintained their momentum in the final phase, defeating Uruguay and Ecuador to secure their fifth competition title and a place in Tokyo with a match that still is to be played.

Not even losing to Brazil in the final could be the deciding factor for a season in which goalkeeper Facundo Cambeses, with central defender Nehuen Perez, midfielder Alexis MacAllister, and Julian Alvarez, and striker Adolfo Gaich topped.

Before this Argentina have won the Olympic Gold medal twice and also silver medal two times. It will be their Nith appearance in Tokyo Olympics 2020.

What About Brazil?

Brazil was far from practical, doing what it had to do at both ends of the field, and ended the tournament as the only undefeated team.

The narrow victories against Peru and Paraguay and two further victories against Uruguay and Bolivia certainly led them through the group stage enough, even though they worked much harder in the final round.

After two draws, they had to beat Argentina in the last game to get to Tokyo. However, they were up to the task of evading a 3-0 win and having the added satisfaction of depriving their old opponents of their unbeaten record.

Andre Jardine’s side had several outstanding players, including frontman Matheus Cunha – the top scorer of the tournament with five goals – and Paulinho who scored three goals and served three assists. Midfielders Bruno Guimaraes and Matheus Henrique also impressed.

It is 14th visit that Brazil will join the Tokyo Olympics 2020 as they had Gold medallists in 2016, they have also won three silvers (1984, 1988 and 2012) and two bronzes (1996 and 2008).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme