Australia Announce Squad For ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020 | Jake Fraser-McGurk to lead Australia

All-rounder Jake Fraser-McGurk battles in Australia for the 15-man squad that will travel to South Africa for the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020.

17-year-old Fraser-McGurk recorded half a century this year on his debut in the Sheffield Shield and One-Day Cup. In his last four appearances for Victoria, he scored 41 *, 54, 19 and 51 points. His List A average after two games is 95.

The announcement of the squad took place immediately after the completion of the U19 Championship of men in Australia, which won New South Wales with 48 runs. Lachlan Hearne, the captain of the NSW Metro, was also inducted into the Australian U19 selection. The left-hander came into the game with a cross of 15/3 and scored a defensible total with 130 to 100 balls. He was named the player of the game.

Four other New South Wales players have been selected for the Under 19s, including all-rounders Oliver Davies and Tanveer Sangha, as well as sailors Liam Marshall and Bradley Simpson.

Fraser-McGurk’s Victoria team-mate Patrick Rowe, who has been successful in the Under-19 Championship for two centuries, is also on the squad. Her team-mate Mackenzie Harvey, who has already represented Melbourne Renegades in the Big Bash League, was also inducted.

“Our squad consists of players from all disciplines with experience in domestic cricket environments, some of whom have already completed promising career starts in senior positions,” said Graham Manou, National Talent & Pathway Manager of Cricket Australia.

“The U19 World Cup offers these players an exceptional opportunity for development and we look forward to honoring their country with distinction. We look forward to traveling to South Africa in January to demonstrate the strength of our pool of underage talents against international opposition. “

Former Australian international Chris Rogers will be the head coach of the U19 and Ryan Harris will be his deputy. Australia is in Group B of the competition alongside the West Indies, England, and Nigeria. They will host their inaugural tournament in Kimberley against the West Indies on 18 January.

Australia became U19 World Champion in 1988, 2002 and 2010.

Australia U19 Squad For ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020

Jake Fraser-McGurk (c), Cooper Connolly, Oliver Davies, Sam Fanning, Mackenzie Harvey, Lachlan Hearne, Corey Kelly, Liam Marshall, Todd Murphy, Patrick Rowe, Tanveer Sangha, Liam Scott, Bradley Simpson, Connor Sully, Matthew Willans

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *