Australia Women’s Dominating With Longest ODI Winning Streak

Australia continued to dominate Sri Lanka and defeated them at the third one-day ICC Women’s Championship with nine wickets to back the previous women’s record series of 17 victories set in 1999 by Belinda Clark’s Australian team to let.

The Australian bowlers were back on track and hunted together to keep Sri Lanka in check despite Chamari Athapaththu’s great century – they are second on the tour after scoring in the first T20I. Georgia Wareham and Megan Rubble took two wickets each, while Ellyse Perry, Nicola Carey and Delissa Kimmince took a wicket on Wednesday, October 9, in Brisbane to restrict visitors to 195/8.

The goal was made easy by Alyssa Healy, who scored 112 * with only 76 deliveries and evoked memories of her record 148 * in the third T20I from last week.

Healy forged a 159-run opening stand with Rachael Haynes, who was the only Australian wicket to fall 63 minutes before Athapaththu. Captain Meg Lanning (20 * of 11) then teamed with Healy to complete the chase with only 26.5 overs.

The victory was further proof of Australia’s dominance in the 50-over format. They have all won their 18 youngest ODIs, including clean sweeps against tough opponents like India and England in their backyards.

The previous record series in women’s ODIs was scored by Clark’s team between 1997 and 1999. The overall record is also held by Australia. The men of Ricky Ponting won in 2003 21 games in a row, including every game of this year’s World Cup cricket of the ICC men in South Africa. Given their competitiveness, there is little doubt that Meg Lanning and Co. I hope that I can also put this series behind me.

The dominance of Australia was so great that they secured the qualification for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2023 after the previous series against the West Indies with two laps to go before the ICC Women’s Championship and could now extend their lead in this scoreboard.

Leave a Reply