CSK v DC | Delhi Capitals Second Win | IPL 2020 Match 7

Delhi Capitals (DC) celebrated their second straight win in the 2020 Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday when they defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 44 runs.

In the seventh game of the season, CSK, who made a change to their XI game and brought in Josh Hazlewood in place of Lungi Ngidi, won the throw and settled on the field.

Prithvi Shaw got the ball rolling for DC and hit two fours in Deepak Chahar’s first over bowling. While there were a few quiet overs, Shaw added two more four to his account when he faced Sam Curran.

Piyush Chawla was introduced to the attack in the seventh game and Shaw greeted him at two fours. In the next round, Shikhar Dhawan hit Ravindra Jadeja for a six and a four when DC went past 60.

Shikhar Dhawan of Delhi Capitals hits the boundary for four runs during match 7 of season 13 of the Dream 11 Indian Premier League (IPL) between Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals held at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai in the United Arab Emirates on the 25th September 2020.

Shaw passed Chawla one more time on the ninth and then hit over a six on the tenth before Jadeja to complete his fifty.

CSK needed a breakthrough and Chawla supplied them with one and released Dhawan over on the 11th. The spinner struck again when Shaw was perplexed. Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant teamed up in the middle after Shaw’s release on the 13th, adding 58 runs.

The partnership was broken in the 19th year when Dhoni made a stunning catch and went bowling to the right of Curran’s. Hazlewood’s last over was for 14 runs when DC posted 175/3 on the board.

DC defended 175 and made no easy runs in the first three overs before Shane Watson hit Avesh Khan in the fourth over for four and six. But Axar Patel sacked Watson in the next game before Anrich Nortje brought Murali Vijay on the last ball of the power play. DC conceded only 13 runs in the next four overs and lost Ruturaj Gaikwad’s wicket.

Faf du Plessis and Kedar Jadhav set up a 54-run stand for the next wicket and kept CSK hopes alive before Nortje took Jadhav out of LBW on the 16th. While enjoying some reparations, du Plessis was fired by Kagiso Rabada for 43 on the 18th.

With 55 needed in the last two overs, it took CSK a miracle to win the match. But DC conceded just 10 runs in the last two overs and sealed the 44-run win to seal the second straight win.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme