Do You Know New Zealand History Of Cricket in World Cups?

With black caps looking to outperform their memorable efforts in 2015, RNZ Sport is putting the spotlight on the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Cricket World Cup 2019: Where and When?

Cricket World Cup will take place from 1 June to 15 July in England and Wales That is the 12th edition.

This year, the format of the competition will be changed from the last two editions in 2011 and 2015. At that time, 14 teams were divided into two groups of seven each, with each of the first four teams qualify for the quarter-finals.

The number of participating teams has been reduced to 10. Hosts England took an automatic seat and the other seven top teams in the one-day international ranking on 30 September 2017 earned their place.

These teams are New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

In March 2018 then took place a qualifying tournament to determine the last two teams. The winner Afghanistan and the runner-up West India were the 10 teams.

All teams play the other nine teams in a round-robin format, with the first four teams advancing to the semifinals.

New Zealand History Of World Cups:

As we Know New Zealand never won the World Cup title.

Their best finish reached the last edition in 2015, when they were beaten in the final by co-hosts Australia.

New Zealand has reached the semi-finals four more times, including the 2007 and 2011 tournaments, so that at least the last four places have been reached in the last three World Championships.

How New Zealand Squad Shaping and Prospects Looking For Cricket World Cup 2019?

The deadline for all teams to submit their 15-man squad to the ICC is April 23.

The Black Caps voters used 17 players in the eleven one-day games they played this summer, starting with Sri Lanka in early January (three games), followed by India (five games) and Bangladesh (three games).

Many of these items are packed.

Injuries that can not be resisted are the batsmen Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor and Henry Nicholls, the goalie / hitter Tom Latham, the bowlers Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry and Tim Southee, as well as the all-rounders Mitchell Santner and Jimmy Neesham get their passports ready.

In the main staff discussions, the focus is on the all-rounders and spin bowlers.

With Neesham as the all-rounder on board, Colin de Grandhomme is the favorite to beat Doug Bracewell for the bowling all-rounder, though both could depend on the team balance that voters choose.

Balance is also relevant to the selection of spin bowlers. Santner is a proven player internationally and can beat up to seven, with leg spin duo Ish Sodhi and Todd Astle battling for extra space.

Sodhi has more experience with 30 ODIs and scored eight goals in the five games he played in the summer. Astle has only nine ODIs and has scored only three goals in his three games, but his outstanding batting skills somewhat offset the playing field between the two.

The only other names in the mix, outside an unlikely bolter, are the batsman Colin Munro and the batsman / sailor Tim Seifert.

Despite his strong international T20 record, Munro fought on a one-day level for the black caps and missed his chance to turn over this summer, making only 199 runs through eight innings averaging less than 25.

Seifert is the clear helper, but the selectors may decide against a specialist and use Nicholls if Latham sustains an injury.

What Are The Keys For New Zealand Success In World Cup 2019?

While they, like each of the 10 teams, have to perform well in all three areas of the game to get deep into the tournament, the strength of the one-day squad of Black Caps is in their struggle.

With Captain Williamson, inaugural Guptill and fierce Ross Taylor, you have three world-class players. Latham is a middle-tier lock, and while Nicholls has been moved up from where he was at home at # 5 or # 6, the recent shape suggests he can do a good job alongside Guptill.

Neesham’s sixth-place goals have been impressive ever since he returned to the ODI squad, rounding into the top six for big runs against the best bowling attacks.

The New Zealand bowling unit has been led by Boult in the last 12 months. His usual new ball partner Southee, who played only four out of eleven one-day players this summer, has fallen in form.

As a player who had strong successes in English lately, Matt Henry should play a good role for Boult. Ferguson has the ability to maintain the pressure during the sometimes lethargic middle stages of an ODI innings.

It remains to be seen whether the selectors for Sodhi, Astle or both will decide to spin Santner.

UK conditions comparable to those in New Zealand are also in their hands and are an advantage they will undoubtedly seek to maximize.

What Is Match Schedule For New Zealand In Cricket World Cup 2019?

The Black Caps will play two pre-tournament matches, India on May 25 and the West Indies on May 28.

New Zealand’s World Cup opener is against Sri Lanka on Saturday, June 1, the same team that started their 2015 tournament.

Games against India on June 13 and against South Africa on June 19 are a good measure of Black Caps’ chances of reaching the semi-finals. The last two round robin games could also be crucial.

Following a clash with her Trans-Tasman rival Australia on June 29, New Zealand completed the tournament’s round-robin tournament by facing the acclaimed England team on July 3.

The semi-final will take place on the 9th and 11th of July. The title will be on July 14 at the famous Lord’s Ground in London.

Keep an eye out for RNZ National and the RNZ website to keep an eye on the black caps in preparation for the World Cup.

The RNZ will be covering all the major World Cups throughout the week – we’ve already played rugby and netball, and tomorrow we’ll be in the limelight for the Women’s World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *