England Announced Women’s Squad For Ashes Test

England has announced a 13-member squad for the forthcoming four-day Women’s Ashes Test in Taunton, scheduled to begin on July 18th.

Under the leadership of Heather Knight is the 21-year-old spinner Kirstie Gordon. The left-wing spinner who debuted for England in the 2018 World T20 lost eight goals in Marlborough’s 240-game defeat by Australia last week.

Fran Wilson and Alex Hartley, both part of the ODI squad, remain in the cover of the test team.

Jenny Gunn and Danni Wyatt, also part of the English ODI buildup, will remain at the England Women’s Academy. Their next assignment is the T20 against Australia A and Ireland.

England is currently six points behind the multi-format ashes, having lost the ODI leg 3-0. You need to win the single test with four points to stay alive in the series. A loss or even a draw in the Taunton test would mean that Australia will keep the ashes.

Skipper Heather Knight said that the nature of the multi-format ashes gives the team the chance to make a comeback in the competition, even though they failed 6-0. “It’s obviously a very important game for us and we have to win it to stay in the series,” she said.

“The beauty of the multi-format point series means we are still very much in combat, a normal bilateral series that ended like the ODIs would have ended, but we can return to 6-4 with a win in the friendly is exciting. “

“The warm-up at Millfield was ideal, we saw the battles getting runs and spending time in the middle, and the bowlers showed good bow performance.

England Women’s Squad For Test

Heather Knight (captain), Sarah Taylor (wk), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Kirstie Gordon, Amy Jones, Laura Marsh, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Lauren Winfield

Updated: July 16, 2019 — 8:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme