England Has Named 24 Men Training Group

England has named 24 men training group ahead of their ODI series with three games against Ireland.

England Has Named 24 Men Training Group

Players will be living and training at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton starting Thursday, July 16. Two practice games within the squad are scheduled for July 21 and 24 before the first ODI takes place on Thursday, July 30.

As there were no players from the squad available for their test series against the West Indies due to the schedule, a number of players without a cap were given chances. Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Richard Gleeson, Laurie Evans, Sam Hain, Tom Helm and Phil Salt were all added to the squad without appearing for England.

The usual white-ball captain, Eoin Morgan, will head the squad, while Moeen Ali and Jonny Bairstow, who both missed the test squad selection against the West Indies, will also be there. Dawid Malan, Pat Brown, and Chris Jordan are not in the squad due to injuries.

England has named 24 men training group
BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND – JUNE 30: Eoin Morgan (c) alongside Jonny Bairstow (l) and Liam Plunkett (r) following his side’s 31 run victory during the Group Stage match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between England and India at Edgbaston on June 30, 2019 in Birmingham, England. (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)

Despite the selection restrictions, National Selector Ed Smith is happy with the squad and shows that he demonstrates the depth available to them.

“Even if multiple multi-format players are not available for Irish ODIs due to their testing commitments, England’s talent for the white ball has real depth.

“Again, everyone at England Cricket would like to thank all of the county coaches and support staff who helped these players behind closed doors in the run-up to the training camp.

“We are now looking forward to welcoming Ireland and further expanding our strength of the white ball.”

England has also named its white ball management team, led by assistant coach Paul Collingwood in the absence of head coach Chris Silverwood, who remains on the test team.

He is joined by Marcus Trescothick (striking coach) and the English Young Lions trainer Jon Lewis (pace bowling trainer), who are supported in their roles by former striking coaches Jon Lewis and Neil Killeen from Sri Lanka. Claude Henderson, who passed 7 tests and 4 ODI for South Africa, was appointed spin bowling coach, while James Foster became a wicket-keeping coach.

England has named 24 men training group

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Laurie Evans, Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Sam Hain, Tom Helm, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.

Updated: July 10, 2020 — 8:58 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme