Faf Du Plessis And Dane Van Niekerk Named For Cricketer Of The Year In Cricket South Africa Awards

Faf du Plessis and Dane van Niekerk, the captains of the men’s and women’s national teams, were honored as “Cricket South Africa (CSA) Award Winners of the Year” on Saturday, the 3rd in Pretoria in their respective categories.

Du Plessis was the eleventh player to win the award and join an elite list including former captains Graeme Smith and AB de Villiers, all-rounders Shaun Pollock and Jacques Kallis, and fast bowlers Makhaya Ntini and Dale Steyn. He was honored to be an ODI Cricketer of the Year and SA Player of the Year with the award-winning list.

While Wicket Keeper batsman Quinton de Kock was named Test Cricketer of the Year, David Miller, the middle-man hitter, won the T20 International Cricketer of the Year award. Kagiso Rabada was honored by the fans and named SA fan player of the year. Rassie Van der Dussen, who has averaged 73.77 ODIs and 36.14 T20Is since making his international debut last October, was named International Newcomer of the Year.

The year’s CSA delivery went to Vernon Philander for his dismissal of Pakistan’s Azhar Ali during the third and final Home Series test, which took place at Wanderers in January 2019. Dale Steyn surpassed Shaun Pollock’s record of 421 test wickets South Africa’s leading wicket taker in the longest format was honored with that Streetwise Award. Steyn currently has 439 Test wickets and is eighth on the all-time list.

Van Niekerk was named Cricket Player of the Year for Women in South Africa for the third time in four years. The 26-year-old all-rounder was also honored by peers after being voted SA Player of the Year. The all-rounder Marizanne Kapp and the fast bowler Shabnam Ismail have been awarded the title of “ODI Player of the Year” and “T20 International Player of the Year” respectively.

“Faf and Dane both have very good years behind them, both as participants in their respective disciplines and in the leadership they bring to our top two national teams,” said Thabang Moroe, CSA Chief Executive, at the event.

“Both our proteas and the proteas of our women are well-ranked in the various formats as teams and individuals. Particularly noteworthy is the first away win of the bilateral ODI series of proteas in Australia. It is noteworthy that Faf has led the Proteas to victory in the home and away ODI series against Australia in recent years, as well as our first Home Test win against the same opponents.

Moroe also praised Van Niekerk, the winner of the highest women’s category award, and seasoned fast bowler Dale Steyn, who was in his opinion a great ambassador for South Africa.

“How much Dane means to our women’s team became clear when she died of injury for a long period of time.

“It’s also a very special moment for the CSA family to honor our leading Test Wicket Taker of all time, Dale Steyn, with the Streetwise Prize. He was a wonderful brand ambassador for CSA and the Proteas for over a decade and was not only a great leader of the proteas attack, but also played a key role as the mentor of the next generation. “

Cricket South Africa Awards

SA Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Faf du Plessis

SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Dane van Niekerk

Test Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock

ODI Cricketer of the Year: Faf du Plessis

T20 International Cricketer of the Year: David Miller

SA Players’ Player of the Year: Faf du Plessis

SA Fans’ Player of the Year: Kagiso Rabada

Streetwise Award: Dale Steyn (SA’s leading Test wicket-taker of all-time)

CSA Delivery of the Year: Vernon Philander (dismissal of Azhar Ali, first innings, 3rd Test)

International Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Rassie van der Dussen

International Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Tumi Sekhukhune

SA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year: Dane van Niekerk

Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Marizanne Kapp

Women’s T20 Cricketer of the Year: Shabnim Ismail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *