History Of FIFA Women’s World Cup From Start To Present

FIFA (Football International Federation Of Association) is an organization which describes itself as an international governing body of association football, futsal, beach soccer, and efootball. FIFA is responsible for the organization of football’s major international tournaments, notably the World Cup which commenced in 1930 and the Women’s World Cup which commenced in 1991.

History Of FIFA Women’s World Cup:

1st World Cup 1991

The start of FIFA women’s world cup was November 1991, it was the first women’s world cup event in which hosted by China. In this event there were 12 teams from all over the world who played 26 matches from 16th November to 30th November 1991.

The winner of the first FIFA women’s world cup was USA and runner up was Norway. Sweden and Germany were on third and fourth positions respectively.


Adidas Golden Ball: Carin JENNINGS (USA)
Adidas Golden Boot: Michelle AKERS (USA)
Fair Play Award: Germany

2nd world cup 1995

The Winner of 2nd FIFA Women’s World Cup was Norway, they were runner up in 1st world cup. Germany was the runner up in 2nd women’s world cup.

In this world number of team was same as in 1st world cup but there were total 26 matches including final between Norway and Germany. Second world cup started on 5th June and end on 18th June.

All Teams were divided in 3 groups which were Group A , Group B, Group c it mean each group had 4 teams.

The winner of first world cup “USA” got 3rd position this time and china was on 4th number. China was host country in first world cup.


Adidas Golden Ball: Hege RIISE (NOR)
Adidas Golden Boot: Ann Kristin AARONES (NOR)
Fair Play Award: Sweden

3rd world cup 1999

Third FIFA women’s world cup 1999 was hosted in America and the winner was also USA who beat China. The full time result was nil so winner decided by penalties shoot out. USA won this world cup by 5-4 in penalties shoot out.

The year of 1999 was different from previous 2 world cup events because in 3rd women’s world cup number of teams was increased from 12 to 16 and all teams were divided in 4 groups equally.

This time 32 matches have been played between 16 teams including a grand final between USA and China. Third and fourth positions match was between Brazil and Norway, Brazil got 3rd position.


Adidas Golden Ball: SUN Wen (CHN)
Adidas Golden Boot: SISSI (Sisleide Lima de Amor) (BRA)
Adidas Golden Boot: SUN Wen (CHN)
Fair Play Award: China PR

4th world cup 2003

Germany won the 4th FIFA women’s world cup USA 2003 and Sweden was the runner up at this time. Germany was very excited with their first win in women’s football world cup history. The match result was on golden goal.

Do you know how many goals have been done in this event? 16 teams had accumulate 107 goals in 32 matches. all teams were divided in 4 groups equally.

Two time winner USA won the match for 3rd position and Canada get 4th position first time in the women football world cup history.


Adidas Golden Ball: Birgit PRINZ (GER)
Adidas Golden Boot: Birgit PRINZ (GER)
Fair Play Award: China PR

5th world cup 2007

The 5th FIFA women’s world cup was scheduled from 10th September to 30th September 2007 in China. It was 2nd time for china to host women’s football world event.

The Champion of 2003 world cup Germany won the world cup once again in 2007 that was 2nd consecutive win of any country in women’s football world cup history.

In 2007 Germany beat Brazil by 2-0 , USA and Norway were on 3rd and 4th positions respectively. In this world cup number of teams were 16 who played 32 matches and made 111 goals in all matches of event.


Adidas Golden Ball: MARTA (BRA)
Adidas Golden Boot: MARTA (BRA)
Fair Play Award: Norway

6th world cup 2011

In 2011 Japan First time won the FIFA women’s world cup that was totally different memories in FIFA women’s world cup history.

In final match at full time the result was 2-2 there for penalties shoot out take place and Japan won the match by 3-1 (penalties).

This time the runner up was USA the two time winner of women’s world cup. In other match in which played for 3rd or 4th position Sweden won it and stand on 3rd position, France get 4th.

In this world cup one thing that was interesting the total number of goals decreased from previous 2 world cups that mean competition between team increased.


Adidas Golden Ball: Homare SAWA (JPN)
Adidas Golden Boot: Homare SAWA (JPN)
Adidas Golden Glove: Hope SOLO (USA)
Best Young Player : Caitlin FOORD (AUS)
Fair Play Award: Japan

7th world cup 2015

The FIFA women’s world cup Canada 2015 was won by USA 3rd time in history and the runner up of this year was Japan who won the title in 2011 and they beat USA.

In this world cup number of teams were increased from 16 to 24 and all teams had played 52 matches including fantastic grand final between USA and Japan. Japan won the final by 5-2.

In 2015, USA’s big-game player Carli Lloyd became the first to score a hat-trick in a Women’s World Cup Final. England and Germany played for 3rd and 4th position, this time England get 3rd position first time.

8th world cup 2019

The 8th FIFA women’s world cup France 2019 is coming soon to live. bookmark our website keep in touch for exciting world cup matches and gossips.

Updated: May 28, 2019 — 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme