Host Cities Revealed For ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 New Zealand Highlights

  1. Hosted in New Zealand from February 6 to March 7, 2021
  2. Eight Cricket Nations
  3. 31 Matches
  4. 6 host cities: Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington, Tauranga, Christchurch, Dunedin

The six cities where sports fans from all over the world are coming to New Zealand for the 2021 ICC World Women’s Cricket Championship at the beginning of next year have been confirmed.

Auckland will host a kick-off weekend at Eden Park before shifting focus to games in Wellington, Hamilton, Tauranga, Dunedin, and Christchurch.

The tournament, which will host 31 matches between February 6 and March 7, will be crowned by a spectacular final in Christchurch under lights at Hagley Oval.

Highlights Of Tournament:

Eden Park to host a bumper opening weekend
Christchurch to host final under lights at Hagley Park
Hamilton and Tauranga to host semi-finals
New Zealand to play at all venues including Dunedin and Wellington

Host Cities Revealed For ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2021
AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND – JANUARY 23: (L-R) Sophie Devine, Rebecca Rolls, Dane Van Niekerk and Mithali Raj pose on the beach with the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup during the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 Venue Announcement at Kohimarama Yacht Club on January 23, 2020 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)

Andrea Nelson, ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Managing Director, said she was pleased to announce the six host cities for a truly national event.

“Our goal was to ensure that all 31 games were played at the best locations, which included a geographical distribution that allowed as many Kiwi sports fans as possible to get involved in the tournament,” said Nelson.

“It was great to see the excitement of so many cities asking to welcome the best players in the world to their back yard,” said Nelson.

“We are absolutely thrilled with the outcome of this robust process and the cities that are now included,” she said.

Today’s announcement at Kohimarama Beach in Auckland was followed by a game of beach cricket with global cricket superstar Mithali Raj from India. The newly appointed WHITE FERNS captain Sophie Devine and teammates Suzie Bates and Amelia Kerr, BLACKCAPS Tom Latham and Henry Nicholls as well as World Cup winner Emily Drumm and Rebecca Rolls.

Following the approval of Hagley Oval’s lights installation for the final at the end of last year, Christchurch was awarded the final of the Women’s Cricket World Cup. Ongoing surveillance is in place to ensure that the lights for the February event are in place.

WHITE FERNS ‘newly appointed captain, Sophie Devine, said the chance to host a World Cup on home soil is an incredible opportunity.

The dual-code cricket and hockey international, who wore the WHITE FERNS top for the first time when he was 17, was particularly pleased to have the opportunity to play at home at the World Cup, where it all started for me in Wellington “.

India’s global superstar Mithali Raj, who recently announced his retirement from the T20 format to focus on ODI games, was also present at the host city announcements.

“Playing for your country is always a special feeling and we are all really looking forward to playing in the beautiful country of New Zealand.”

“Women’s cricket is slowly coming to the fore, so it’s important that we continue to build that interest around the world,” she says.

With the ICC 2021 World Women’s Cricket Championship to demonstrate the rapid global growth of female cricket, millions of eyes will be on New Zealand next year.

ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 Chair Liz Dawson said: “This incredible event will highlight the progress made in the global game and the tremendous opportunities women and girls have in cricket.

“The hundreds of thousands of children around the world who are enthusiastic about the game and indeed have a much greater interest in the game will be one of the great legacies of this World Cup.”

Manu Sawhney, ICC’s chief executive, said the event would highlight the massive increase in global engagement in women’s cricket.

Host Cities Revealed For ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2021
AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND – JANUARY 23: ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup CEO, Andrea Nelson during the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 Venue Announcement at Kohimarama Yacht Club on January 23, 2020 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)

“ICC is committed to the growth of the game for women. This event is another step on this path and part of our continued investment in the game to create a global platform for the best players in the world.” Women’s cricket has enormous growth potential and the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 offers us a fantastic opportunity to achieve this.

“I want to thank our host cities for sharing our ambition, and I know that the New Zealand sports enthusiast will take effect to support the teams.” The eyes of the cricket world will be in New Zealand in February and March 2021, as the world’s best players come together to host an incredible show. “

David White, CEO of New Zealand Cricket, said the World Cup will be an important milestone in the ongoing transformation of cricket for women in the host country and beyond.

“This will be a spectacular event that will help attract and grow a new, appreciative audience for the game. We look forward to sharing the best of our sport and country with the rest of the world. “

Emily Drumm, who led WHITE FERNS to victory at the 2000 Women’s World Cricket Championship and now works as a television commentator, was thrilled to see how far women’s play has progressed since winning the trophy 20 years ago.

“It’s great to see our hard-working women finally get the attention they deserve – including the opportunity to play in the country’s top cricket venues,” she said.

Economic Development Minister Phil Twyford said that the 2021 ICC World Cup for Women will be organized in line with the government’s strategy for women and girls in sports and active recreation by creating opportunities to strengthen female leadership and participation in sport, value, and value to increase the visibility of women’s sports.

“If we share the games in Wellington, Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Tauranga, and Hamilton, everyone will have the opportunity to watch the women’s cricket and take part in the action.

“The World Cricket Championship marks the beginning of two great years for women’s sports and was funded by the state-run event fund. We can also look forward to hosting the Rugby World Cup in 2021 and the 8th World Conference of the International Working Group for Women in Sport in 2022. “

Leave a Reply