ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 | Ireland Team Preview

Under the guidance of an inspiring leader in Gary Wilson, and under the expert guidance of new coach Graham Ford, Ireland has a solid mix of experience and youth that makes it an outstanding force in the 20120 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup qualifier.

Ireland has shown signs of brilliance on the big stage in the past. They have beaten top teams like Pakistan and England at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in 2007 and 2011, with the former team knocking out their opponents. They also excelled in their first appearance at the T20 World Cup and defeated Bangladesh with a comprehensive victory over six wickets in the 2009 edition.

They have had mixed results recently, having won the Tri-Series final against Scotland in a thrilling home game and then hosted Oman in the Pentangular series to finish second in the competition.

Ireland maybe the 14th in the MRF Tires ICC T20I Ranking and currently, the fourth of the 14 teams participating in the ICC T20 World Cup qualifying tournament, but has enough firepower to perform fully against each opponent on a given day,

How do they get in?

Ireland had finished in the top 16 of the T20I team ranking by the deadline of 31 December 2018, allowing it to sign up for the 2019 qualifier.

T20 World Cup history

After Ireland shared the honor in the first qualifying tournament with the Netherlands in 2008, they won twice and won titles in 2012 and 2013 in a row. It is the most successful team of the previous tournament. However, they have not made any progress after the opening phase in each of the main post-2009 issues.

key players

Kevin O’Brien: O’Brien was there in 2009, playing a match-winning strike against Bangladesh with his brother Niall. Then he became famous in 2011 and scored in the 50-Over World Cup, the fastest century of all time to achieve in Bengaluru a strong victory against England.

His skills are still unbroken at the age of 35, as evidenced once again when he performed Ireland’s first century in the shortest format and scored only 62 balls against Oman earlier this month. The experienced all-rounder with his hard skills will certainly be Ireland’s key player in qualifying.


18 October: v Hong Kong, Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
19 October: v United Arab Emirates, Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
21 October: v Oman, Tolerance Oval, Abu Dhabi
23 October: v Canada, Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
25 October: v Jersey, Tolerance Oval, Abu Dhabi
26 October: v Nigeria, Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi


Gary Wilson (c), Mark Adair, Andy Balbirnie, David Delany, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Kevin O’Brien, Boyd Rankin, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Stuart Thompson, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *