ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup 2020 | Match Umpires And Referees Names

The International Cricket Council announced today the appointment of referees and referees for the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020, which will be held in South Africa from January 17 to February 9.

Seasoned referees Wayne Knights and Ravindra Wimalasiri will head the opening game of the ICC U19 World Cricket Championship after South Africa 2020 officials have been confirmed.

About ICC Under19 Cricket World Cup South Africa 2020

New Zealand’s Sri Lankan knights and Wimalasiri, who have led 71 ODI and T20I games, will officiate against Afghanistan on January 17th at the Kimberley start.

Rashid Riaz Waqar will be the TV referee for the first of 48 games in the tournament. A team of 19 game officers has been confirmed by the International Cricket Council.

Among those responsible will be veteran Ian Gould, whose esteemed international career came to an end when he retired on home soil during the 2019 Men’s World Cricket Championship.

In the first phase of the U19 World Cup, a total of 16 referees from 12 different countries will be on the field for five games each, with eight also taking on the role of TV referee.

The list includes five referees who took care of the 2019 ICC men’s T20 World Cup qualification at the end of last year, including Sam Nogajski, who was in charge of the final between Papua New Guinea and the Netherlands.

The Australian will take the reins for a historic occasion. Japan will play its first game at the ICC U19 World Cricket Championship when it comes to New Zealand in Potchefstroom. Iknow Chabi from Zimbabwe will join Nogajski in the middle.

Nigeria will be the 31st team to take part in this event when dealing with Australia. Australia is the second most successful team since the competition started in 1988 when the Youth Cricket World Cup was held.

Bangladeshi referees Masudur Rahman Mukul and Nigel Duguid from the West Indies will raise their fingers in Kimberley on January 20.

There will also be renewed Ashes rivalry on a youth level on the pool stages. Adrian Holdstock and Asif Yaqoob meet Australia three days later in Kimberley.

The 16 referees will be joined by three referees during the tournament, with former Sri Lankan international Graeme Labrooy serving alongside domestic referee Shaid Wadvalla and Englishman Phil Whitticase.

ICC Senior Manager – Referee and Referee, Adrian Griffith: “The U19 World Cricket Championship is a very important event on our calendar as it brings together the most promising young players in the world in a major ICC tournament and gives them the experience of being global Competition to pass the stage.

“We are committed to appointing the best officials available and I have every confidence in the team that is going to South Africa for the U19 World Cricket Championship to do a good job. I wish you all the best. “

Referee and match referee dates for the knockout stages will be announced after the teams have been confirmed. The dates for the Plate and Super League finals are set after the semi-finals.

The Official Umpires and Referees For The Tournament

Umpires: Roland Black, Ahmad Shah Pakteen, Sam Nogajski, Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid, Ian Gould, Wayne Knights, Rashid Riaz Waqar, Anil Chaudhary, Patrick Bongani Jele, Iknow Chabi, Nigel Duguid, Ravindra Wimalasiri, Masudur Rahman Mukul, Asif Yaqoob, Leslie Reifer, Adrian Holdstock

Match Referees: Graeme Labrooy, Shaid Wadvalla, Phil Whitticase

Leave a Reply