ICC Women Championship Points Allocation

The Technical Committee of the ICC Women Championship (TC) decided that the teams share points in all three series of the ICC Women Championship that did not take place during the competition window.

ICC Women Championship Points Allocation

  1. Force Majeure sees points split into three series
  2. India and Pakistan share points after their series could not be played, points also split for the South Africa v Australia and Sri Lanka v New Zealand series canceled due to COVID-1
ICC Women Championship
ICC Women Championship

Regarding the India v Pakistan series, the TC concluded that the series could not be played due to a force majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it could not obtain the government approvals required to participate in the India to enable bilateral series against Pakistan, which is part of the ICC Women’s Championship.

In the meantime, two more series of the ICC Women’s Championship have been canceled due to the COVID 19 pandemic. South Africa should host Australia and Sri Lanka New Zealand in the final round of the games.

The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled for the sixth round of the competition between July and November 2019, but could not take place despite the efforts of both boards.

Six New Zealand cities to host the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021

All eight teams of the ICC Women’s Championship 2017-2020 play in a series with three games against each other. The host of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021, New Zealand, and the next four top-ranked teams in the points table qualify directly for the one-day international cricket pinnacle event.

Australia (37 points), England (29), South Africa (25) and now India (23) qualified for the top 4. Pakistan (19), New Zealand (17), West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5) complete the table.

The ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier for Women is scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka from July 3rd to 19th. This is being reviewed based on the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 10 teams competing for the three remaining places at the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cricket Championship are the Sri Lanka hosts, as well as Pakistan and the West Indies from the ICC Women’s Championship, the other two teams with ODI status, Bangladesh and Ireland Winner of five regional qualifiers – Thailand (Asia), Zimbabwe (Africa), Papua New Guinea (East Asia-Pacific), United States (America) and Netherlands (Europe).

An earlier media release announcing the full schedule for the 2021 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme