Indian Hockey team win Olympic Test Tournament 2019

The Indian men’s hockey team, in revenge for the defeat in the round robin phase, defeated New Zealand 5–0 in the final to win the Olympic Test tournament. Captain Harmanpreet Singh (seventh minute) scored the first goal while Shamsher Singh (18th), Nilakanta Sharma (22nd), Gursahibjit Singh (26th) and Mandeep Singh (27th) scored the other goals. India were defeated 1-2 by New Zealand in the round robin phase.

Both the teams started playing well. India got a penalty corner in the seventh minute which could not be scored but captain Harmanpreet scored the second penalty corner the same minute to give the team an edge. The Indian team continued to control the ball and held a 1-0 lead in the first quarter. Shamsher scored the second goal for India in the 18th minute on a penalty corner. 

New Zealand managed to enter the circle twice in the second quarter while India scored three more goals. Neelakanta scored the third goal in the 22nd minute. After this, Gursahibjit Singh and Mandeep scored consecutive goals. After this, there was no goal in the third and fourth quarters. In the last quarter, the Indian defenders did not give any chance to New Zealand with a strong performance.

Leave a Reply