Iyer and Rahul shine as India win 1st T20I against New Zealand

Team India defeated New Zealand by 6 wickets in Auckland T20. With this, India took a 1-0 lead in the five-match T20 series. After losing the toss and batting first, the New Zealand team lost 5 wickets in 20 overs and scored 203 runs and gave India a target of 204 runs to win. In response, Team India achieved the target by losing 4 wickets in 19 overs.

For India, Lokesh Rahul scored 56 runs off 27 balls with the help of four fours and three sixes. Captain Kohli managed to score 45 runs off 32 balls. But Shreyas Iyer, who was the hero of the match, made 5 fours and 3 sixes in 29 balls, scoring an unbeaten 58 and took India over the line. Manish Pandey remained unbeaten with 14 runs with him. He also created a match-winning 50+ partnership with Iyer.

Shreyas Iyer scored the highest unbeaten 58 runs for India. Lokesh Rahul played 56 and Virat Kohli scored 45 runs. Both shared a 99-run partnership for the second wicket. Rohit Sharma got out after scoring 7 runs. Ish Sodhi took 2 wickets for New Zealand.

The Indian cricket team has chased the target of 200 more than four times in T20 International matches. Australia is at number two, who has done this feat twice. After this, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies, England and Qatar have done this feat once. Chased a target of 204 runs against New Zealand and won with one over remaining. It is the fourth largest successful chase for India.

Earlier India had won against West Indies in Hyderabad in 2019 by chasing a target of 208 runs. In 2009, India successfully chased a target of 207 runs against Sri Lanka in Mohali, and in 2013 India won by chasing a target of 202 runs against Australia in Rajkot.

India’s innings

India had a poor start, as Santner give the first blow to India with a total of 16 runs. Rohit Sharma was caught out by Mitchell Santner in the hands of Ross Taylor. Rohit was out after scoring 7 runs. After Rohit’s dismissal, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli partnered 99 runs for the second wicket. KL Rahul was dismissed for 56 runs off 27 balls. Rahul scored 4 fours and 3 sixes in his innings. Ish Sodhi gave another blow to India by dismissing Rahul.

After KL Rahul’s dismissal, Virat Kohli also started walking. Blair Tickner gave India the third blow by getting Kohli caught out by Martin Guptill. Virat Kohli was dismissed after scoring 45 runs. Kohli hit 3 fours and 1 six in his 32-ball innings.

When both of them were out, Iyer took the responsibility of winning India and with 29 balls, five fours and three sixes, the sharp unbeaten 58-run innings gave his team the victory. Shivam Dubey scored 13 runs with the help of a four and a six but Sodhi fell prey before he could take his stormy style further. The Kiwi team raised hopes of victory from here, but Iyer dashed them. Manish Pandey remained unbeaten with Iyer scoring 14 runs.

New Zealand gave India a target of 204 runs

The New Zealand team, who came out to bat first, scored 203 runs after losing 5 wickets in 20 overs and gave India a target of 204 runs to win. For New Zealand, Colin Munro scored the highest 59 runs. At the same time, Ross Taylor scored 54 runs. While captain Kane Williamson scored 51 runs.

For India, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jaspreet Bumrah, Shivam Dubey, Shardul Thakur and Ravindra Jadeja achieved one success each. Mohammad Shami and Shivam Dubey proved to be quite expensive. Shami spent 53 runs in four overs while Shivam conceded 44 runs in three overs.

From New Zealand, Colin Munro and Martin Guptill descended for the opening. Both these batsmen beat Indian bowlers fiercely and put 80 runs in 7.5 overs on the board. In the eighth over, Martin Guptill was caught by India’s young all-rounder Shivam Dubey at the boundary line by Rohit Sharma. Martin Guptill was dismissed for 30 runs.

After this Munro started the innings with captain Kane Williamson. Colin Munro completed the 10th half-century of his T20 International career off 36 balls. Munro returned to the pavilion on a total score of 116. Munro hit six fours and two sixes in 42 balls. Shardul Thakur took the wicket of Munro. Colin de Grandhom (0) was dismissed by Ravindra Jadeja on a total score of 117. Now Ross Taylor came to support the captain and both of them started playing in a jagged style. Kane Williamson was out for a total score of 178. Kane Williamson hit four fours off 26 balls.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson was dismissed for 51 off 26 balls. Kane Williamson was caught by Yuzvendra Chahal at the hands of Virat Kohli and gave New Zealand a fourth. Wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert (1), who replaced Kane Williamson, was returned cheaply by Jasprit Bumrah, but Taylor continued to bat strongly at one end. Taylor, meanwhile, completed his half-century. In his unbeaten innings, Taylor faced 27 balls and hit three fours and as many sixes. Mitchell Santner returned unbeaten on two runs.

India gave first batting to New Zealand

India captain Virat Kohli decided to bowl after winning the toss and invited New Zealand to bat first. In this match, Virat Kohli did not include Rishabh Pant in the playing eleven. KL Rahul was given the chance to replace Rishabh Pant, who will also do wicketkeeping along with batting.

Team India’s playing XI includes Ravindra Jadeja in place of Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur in place of Navdeep Saini and Yuzvendra Chahal in place of Kuldeep Yadav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme