Lasith Malinga Will Lead Sri Lanka In 3 T20 Match Series Against New Zealand

Experienced fast bowler Lasith Malinga, recently retired from ODI cricket, will lead Sri Lanka from three games against New Zealand in Pallekele in the T20I series starting September 1st.

Niroshan Dickwella, the left-handed racket of the Wicket Keepers, was appointed as a deputy to Malinga in the 15-member team home series. Sri Lanka last played a T20I series against South Africa in March this year as they lost all three of their games.

Avishka Fernando, who scored his first international century in the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 and finished in the second ODI against Bangladesh with 82 wins, kept his place in the shortest format.

Senior all-rounder Thisara Perera is the most notable absentee of the 15-member group. The all-rounders Angelo Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva and Priyamal Perera, the wicket keeper Sadeera Samarawickrama and the bowler Suranga Lakmal, Jefferey Vandersay, Asitha Fernando and Kamindu Mendis, who had all traveled South Africa, had to take a break.

Visitor New Zealand is contesting a T20 practice game against the XI. President of the Sri Lanka Board, followed by the first T20 international.

Sri Lanka Squad For T20 Matches

Lasith Malinga (c), Niroshan Dickwella, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Janith Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Lahiru Madushanka

Leave a Reply