New Zealand Players Awards 2019/20

Fast bowler Tim Southee and women’s team captain Sophie Devine were honored for their performance during the 2019/20 season at the New Zealand Players awards on Wednesday, April 8.

New Zealand Players Awards

Devine won the CPA Players ‘Award while Southee received the Players’ Cap. Devine has now won the award for three consecutive seasons, which is the record for men’s captain Kane Williamson, who did the feat from 2015 to 2017.

New Zealand Players Awards
New Zealand Players Awards

Devine was in a remarkable shape last year and continued to shine, scoring six consecutive over fifty points in February 2020. She was also the top scorer for New Zealand at this year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

New Zealand CPA board member and former female player Rebecca Rolls presented the award to Devine in a virtual ceremony. “It is a real honor to be able to present this award to such a well-deserved recipient in Sophie,” she said.

“Being recognized by your peers is the ultimate award for any player. This award is particularly relevant because players can see statistical results in addition to the intangible aspects that contribute to the team’s performance.”

Southee, who had secured his second player cap, was honored by former teammate Daniel Vettori. The seaman was a valuable asset for the black caps and performed consistently at all levels. Southee joins Williamson and Ross Taylor as multiple winners of the highly regarded player award.

Vettori was high praise for Southee, who he believed worked hard to win the award. “It is difficult to get the right to receive the Players’ Cap. It requires consistency in shape, fitness, endurance and, above all, regular contributions to the team, regardless of format,” he said. “Tim has had a remarkable year and is a truly deserving recipient of this award.”

The Players’ Cap leading vote recipients per format were:

Test Neil Wagner
ODI Lockie Ferguson
T20i Tim Southee

The Players’ Cap leading vote recipients from each series during 2019/20 were:

ICC Cricket World Cup Lockie Ferguson
Sri Lanka tour BJ Watling
England in NZ Neil Wagner
Australian tour Neil Wagner
India in NZ Tim Southee

The CPA Players’ Award leading vote recipients per format was:

ODI Suzie Bates
T20i Sophie Devine
The CPA Players’ Award leading vote recipients from each series during 2019/20 were:

South Africa in NZ Sophie Devine
ICC World Twenty20 Hayley Jensen

Updated: April 9, 2020 — 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme