Orlando Awaits Junior Davis Cup and Fed Cup

On Lake Nona in Orlando, Florida on 24th September the Junior Davis Cup 2019 and the Junior Fed Cup of BNP Paribas Finals will be held with some of the best tennis talents in the world.

The two 16-team events, which will total 26 nations this year, will be held on the sands of the USTA National Campus and broadcast live on ITFTennis.com, DavisCup.com, and FedCup.com from September 24-29.

All sorts of young tennis greats have competed since 1985, including Goran Ivanisevic (1986), Jennifer Capriati (1989), Lindsay Davenport (1991), Gustavo Kuerten (1992), Roger Federer (1996) and Kei Nishikori (1996). 2005).

Prior to winning his 19 Grand Slam titles, Rafael Nadal celebrated fame in Spain in 2002, as did Junior Fed Cup champion Ashleigh Barty in 2011, and Canadian duo Felix Auger-Aliassime and Dennis Shapovalov, who won the Junior Davis Cup title Madrid in 2015.

In last year’s finals, Spain won the Junior Davis Cup in Budapest 2-1 against France, while Coco Gauff, the breaking star of 2019, won the US title defense against Ukraine 2-1 in the final.

The Dane Holger Vitus Nodskov Rune and the Canadian Leylah Annie Fernandez became Junior Roland Garros champions in 2018, as did the Italian Lorenzo Musetti, who won the championship title at the Australian Open in January.

The 32 teams that reached Orlando later this month came from regional qualifiers across the globe. Ukraine will make their Junior Davis Cup debut, while Syria’s Junior Davis Cup team has also qualified. This is the first time the nation has participated in the finals of an ITF junior team competition.

Shintaro Mochizuki, the boys’ Wimbledon champion, will defend Japan’s chances, while Martin Damm and Toby Kodat lead a strong American team in the Junior Davis Cup. The USA will also be important candidates to defend their Junior Fed Cup title, but they will face tough resistance from Polina Kudermetova’s Russia.

Teams For Junior Davis Cup And Fed Cup

Junior Davis Cup by BNP Paribas:

Australia, Bolivia, Canada, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Great Britain, Hong Kong, Japan, Morocco, Paraguay, Serbia, Spain, Syria, Ukraine, USA.

Junior Fed Cup by BNP Paribas:

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Korea Rep, Morocco, Peru, Russia, Serbia, Thailand, USA.

Leave a Reply