Pakistan Hockey Federation Short Listed 38 Players Name For Second Phase Of Training

Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) announced on Saturday the names of 38 players for the second phase of the national team training camp in Lahore.

A PHF representative told reporters Saturday that the national team selection process for the FIH Pro League will take place this week.

The newly appointed head coach of Pakistani hockey team Saeed Khan said most of the selected players are young when contacted by “The News”.

“The players are young and we work on them, taking into account our upcoming tasks,” he said.

Saeed said he will not follow the training methods of former head coach Roelant Oltmans of the Netherlands.

“Oltmans had his own way of training. We’re working on an offensive, aggressive style of play that was the hallmark of Pakistani hockey, “said Saeed.

“We train them, but they need some time to settle,” he said. “The physical fitness of the players will gradually improve. For the coming months, we are looking for a coach. “

Greenshirts will contest their opening match of the FIH Pro League against Argentina on February 2nd.

Meanwhile, the four goalkeepers who have coached in Karachi under the supervision of Olympic Shahid Ali Khan, on Saturday in Lahore in the national team.

“Pakistan hockey has a long way to go. We need to motivate players and train them to get used to the aggressive style of play. If you play defensively, your morale goes down and you’re under pressure after you’ve scored a goal, “he added.

Saeed said most of the players in the training camp come from the junior ice hockey team.

Short Listed Players Name

Muneebur Rehman, Waleed Akhtar, Aleem Bilal, Mubashar Ali, Waqar, Rizwan Ali, Amjad Ali, Abu Bakar Mehmood, Moin Shakeel, Azfar Yaqoob, Faisal Qadir, Junaid Kamal, Atif Mushtaq, Asfand Yar, Ali Shan, Atiq Arshad, Saran Bin Qamar,Rana Waheed,Rana Sohail Riaz, Ghazanfar Ali, Ali Aziz, Suhail Anjum, Sami Ullah, Sardar Chandio Khan, Arsalan Qadir, Shan Irshad, Hammadudin Anjum, Salman Razzaq, Junaid Manzoor, Adeel Latif, Abdul Nafeh, Rehan Butt, Ajmal Butt, Zain, Taimoor Malik, Awais ur Rehman, Akmal Hussain and Amjad Ali.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *