Perry & Warner take headline prizes at Australian Cricket Awards

The main prizes of the Allan Border Medal and the Belinda Clark Medal went to David Warner and Ellyse Perry. This was the third such victory. Alyssa Healy also won big, winning both the ODI and T20I player of the year, while the test player of the year went to Marnus Labuschagne for men.

The Belinda Clark Medal and the Allan Border Medal are awarded to players chosen by players, referees and the media from all international cricket countries. Both players won their first such award in 2016, with Warner winning it for the second time in 2017 and Perry in 2018.

Warner had a great campaign during the 2019 ICC Men’s World Cricket Championship, scoring 647 runs across the tournament, only second after Rohit Sharma’s 648, and beating the tournament’s highest innings – a massive 147-ball 166 against Bangladesh during of the tournament group stage. He then scored 335 * in 418 balls against Pakistan in Adelaide, the second-highest test score an Australian had ever achieved.

Perry also had a busy year and often played with both racket and ball. She was a central figure in Australia’s dominant Ashes appearance – visitors called for the multi-format series 12-4. Perry set fire to the only test in the series played in Taunton with a brilliant score of 116 and also achieved record scores of 7/22 in the Canterbury ODI. Overall, she ended the series with 378 runs and 15 gates and led both charts in both teams. She also showed strong performances in the West Indies and at home against Sri Lanka.

Breakout Strike Sensation Marnus Labuschagne was named Test Player of the Year for Men after scoring 1249 runs in 15 innings in incredible form, starting as a substitute for Steve Smith’s concussion during the ashes.

Wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy became the Women of the Year’s ODI and T20I player after scoring more than 1000 runs in both formats in 2019, including a 148 * record in a T20I against Sri Lanka in Sydney.

Warner also won the men’s T20I player of the year award while his opening partner Aaron Finch won the men’s ODI player of the year.

Do you want to watch all the photos of the Australian Cricket Awards 2020 then visit Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme