USA Retain Their Title | FIFA World Cup France 2019 | 7 July

“There will be one before and after the 2019 Women’s World Cup,” said FIFA President Gianni Infantino at the final tournament of the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019 ™.

The “While” was certainly eventful as the US retained the title they had won in Canada in 2015 and picked up the trophy for the fourth time. The Netherlands, which came second only for the second time, continue to write their own story two years after winning the European title, while Sweden finished in the top three for the fourth time. France has fulfilled its promise to host the largest women’s World Cup ever.


Under the leadership of their two captains Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe (USA) they went through the group stage, which they started with a 13-0 defeat to Thailand in a tournament record. When the Americans were tested in the knockout rounds of world-class opponents such as Spain, France and England, they found a way, scored a goal early in each game, and held off whatever their opponents had to offer.

And when it came to the last hurdle, the USWNT lived up to its reputation and beat the Netherlands thanks to outstanding performances from Rapinoe and breakthrough star Rose Lavelle.

Memorable Moments

Oranje writes history: While the Dutch ended the tournament in tears after the end defeat, they return to their heroines. Turning novices just four years ago, they are now officially the second best team on the planet.

Tokyo, we’re here: With France in 2019 as the UEFA qualifying competition for the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament next year, the Dutch have also booked a seat in Tokyo 2020. Then there are the semi-finalists Sweden and England. The three available European places at the Olympics were rarely so difficult to maintain as seven of the eight quarter-finalists in France 2019 all came from the continent.

Famous premieres: Tournament debutants South Africa, Chile, Scotland and Jamaica all achieved their first World Cup goals for women, although only La Roja won a match against Thailand. Spain also secured their first World Cup victory, while Argentina and Scotland scored points thanks to their dramatic 3-3 draw.

Solo artists: Mana Iwabuchi (Japan), Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria), Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon), Sam Kerr (Australia) and Cristina Girelli (Italy) were outstanding on the big stage but could not compete with their own Teams no further than to the knockout stages or quarter-finals.

Selecting individual stars from the four semi-finalists was a difficult task, although Lucy Bronze and Ellen White (England), Rose Lavelle and Julie Ertz (USA), Sofia Jakobsson and Caroline Seger (Sweden) and Vivianne Miedema and Jackie Groenen (Sweden) Netherlands) Everyone played a big role in the great campaigns of their teams.

French Dream Unfulfilled: The eagerly awaited quarter-final between hosts France and defending champions USA turned out to be a thrilling and exciting battle that ultimately paved the way for the world’s best team. However, with their tears of disappointment dying, Les Bleues could be proud of the passion and excitement they had aroused throughout their country, thanks to their outstanding achievements and exemplary spirit.

End of an era ?: France 2019 could prove to be world champion for some of the best players in the world. Some of the stars that may well have to wait are the Brazilian trio Marta, Formiga and Cristiane, the Canadian scorer Christine Sinclair, the Norwegian goalkeeper Ingrid Hjelmseth and the US idols Carli Lloyd, Megan Rapinoe and Ali Krieger. While the future is in safe hands with the next generation of talents, these stars will certainly be missed if they do not return to the big stage in 2023.

Stats and figures about World Cup 2019

Participants Countries

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China PR, England, France, Germany, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea Republic, Nigeria, Norway, New Zealand, Netherlands, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, USA

Top Four Teams

  1. USA
  2. Netherlands
  3. Sweden
  4. England

Hosting Cities of France

Grenoble, Le Havre, Lyon, Montpellier, Nice, Paris, Reims, Rennes, Valenciennes

Total Goal Scored

146 Goals


Adidas Golden Ball: Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Adidas Silver Ball: Lucy Bronze (ENG)
Adidas Bronze Ball: Rose Lavelle (USA)
Adidas Golden Boot: Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Adidas Silver Boot: Alex Morgan (USA)
Adidas Bronze Boot: Ellen White (ENG)
Adidas Golden Glove: Sari van Veenendaal (NED)
FIFA Young Player Award: Giulia Gwinn (GER)
FIFA Fair Play Trophy: France

0 thoughts on “USA Retain Their Title | FIFA World Cup France 2019 | 7 July

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *