Virat Kohli: 1st Player To Win ICC Test And ODI Cricketer Of The Year

The Indian captain Virat Kohli was king when he won all the ICC Awards 2018 awards. He was the first player in history to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year and the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year, the ICC ODI Player of the Year after an exceptional year in 2018.

Kohli was also named captain of the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year for a great run in international cricket. Kohli scored 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08 in 13 tests with five hundred in the calendar year, while in 14 ODI summed up 1202 runs to a staggering 133.55 in six centuries. He also scored 211 runs in 10 T20Is.

“It feels great. It’s a reward for all the hard work you do throughout the calendar year. I’m really thankful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time. Global recognition from the ICC is one thing you are proud of as a cricketer because you know that many players are playing the game, “Kohli said.

“To be rewarded in this way, of course, is a very proud moment for me and something that motivates you to repeat the same things over and over again because you must uphold the standard of cricket and deliver consistent performance. From this perspective, these awards are an additional motivation, “he added.

Kohli won the Sir Garfield Trophy and ICC ODI Player of the Year award last year, and in 2012 was also the ICC ODI Player of the Year.

“This is a deserved recognition for an extraordinary talent. His respect for the game and especially for Test Cricket is also recognized and appreciated. He passionately supports the longest form of the game and its continued importance.

To be recognized as a true cricket team you have to be successful in all formats of the game, and Virat has become a great ambassador of our sport, “praised ICC chief David Richardson Kohli.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *