West Indies recall Russell, Thomas, Hetmyer, Allen, and Hope for Sri Lanka T20Is

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has named a 14-member squad for the two-game series in which Andre Russell could play his first T20I since August 2018.

Roger Harper, CWI Lead Selector, believed that Russell would contribute to all facets of the team and said he would “give potency to every section of the team”.

Oshane Thomas has also returned, having fully recovered from a car accident in which he was recently involved. “Oshane Thomas seems focused and ready. He will give the bowling unit speed and penetration,” said Harper in a press release.

Shai Hope and Fabian Allen also return to the side after missing the last T20I series due to injury. “Shai Hope offers an opening option and cover as a replacement wicketkeeper,” said Harper.

“Fabian Allen is returning from the injury he suffered in the series against Afghanistan at the end of last year. He will offer a spin bowling option and add depth to the group.”

Shimron Hetmyer is the only member of the returning quintet that does not return after an injury. He was excluded from the ODI roster for this tour because he did not meet the required fitness standards, as Harper explained: “Shimron Hetmyer missed the quintet selection.” ODI squad. Since then he has reached the required level of fitness, is available and has been accepted. “

Harper finally added: “I look forward to the team building on their recent achievements and winning the T20 series in Sri Lanka. This is another opportunity for the team to build on their strengths and identify areas for improvement while the construction process continues, with the goal of reaching the high point for the T20 World Championship in October. “

West Indies Men’s Squad Against Sri Lanka Men’s

Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams

Leave a Comment