Windies Women’s Squad For T20 World Cup 2020 Australia

Cricket West Indies has nominated its 15-member squad for the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, led by Stafanie Taylor. Deandra Dottin will appear abroad for the first time in more than a year after a long injury break.

Dottin’s last T20I was in February 2019, when she made only 29 balls against Pakistan 46, although that wasn’t enough to prevent her team from losing. Her return will be a great asset because the Barbados-born all-rounder has a number of records at both national and international levels. She was the first woman to score a T20I 100 in 2010 and the first to score a second in 2017 – a feat that only Danni Wyatt, Meg Lanning, and Beth Mooney have since accomplished.

Taylor also returns to lead the team that missed the latest Windies T20I series, in which India was whitewashed 5-0 due to injury.

Ann Browne-John, head of the CWI selection committee for women and girls, believes the squad strikes a balance between youth and experience. “The World Cup squad continues to show a mix of experience and young aspiring players,” she said in a press release.

“Lee-Ann Kirby returns to the team after a long absence but has proven to be a successful scorer. In addition, the introduction of the young fast bowler Cherry-Ann Fraser is ideal for Australian pitch lengths, which are generally quick and with a certain jump The team has the experience and talent to excel at the World Cup. “

West Indies will try to regain the title after winning the 2016 edition of the tournament, with both Taylor and Dottin’s all-round skills proving essential to this success. Taylor was the tournament’s top runscorer and fourth-highest wicket-taker, while Dottin was the second-highest wicket-taker and third fastest scorer among players with more than 100 runs of the tournament.

In the final against Australia, the then 18-year-old Hayley Matthews cracked a 45-ball 66 with the wicket from Alyssa Healy, while the current vice-captain Anisa Mohammed used the decisive wicket from Lanning to get the Australian innings going.

West Indies Women’s Squad For ICC Women’s T20I World Cup 2020 Australia

Stafanie Taylor (captain), Anisa Mohammed (vice-captain), Deandra Dottin, Hayley Matthews, Chedean Nation, Lee Ann Kirby, Britney Cooper, Shemaine Campbelle, Chinelle Henry, Afy Fletcher, Shamilia Connell, Shakera Selman, Sheneta Grimmond, Cherry Ann Fraser, Aaliyah Alleyne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Live Cricket Match Today © 2022 Frontier Theme